Tax Bill

Ville de Longueuil

Information concerning the 2014 tax bill

Towards a more human, a more efficient, and always a stronger city

For 2014, Longueuil has adopted means to go even further! It will thus become a more human, a more efficient, and always a stronger city.

The 2014 budget limits the average tax increase to 1%. Along with the dedicated 1% tax to revamp our infrastructures, this hike takes into account the ability to pay of Longueuil residents.

This budget is the result of the work undertaken by the city in 2010 to restore its financial situation. It represents the efforts made to limit expenditures and to increase revenues, which includes reducing the number of elected officials following the redistribution of the electoral map. It also reflects the city’s resolve to provide quality neighbourhood services at the best possible cost.

In 2013, the city implemented several major projects, including the Accès 65+ project that provides free public transit services to riders aged 65 and over, the implementation of the 311 service, the adoption of the first sustainable strategic development plan and, more recently, a new winter viability plan that provides for the snow clearing of 300 additional kilometres of sidewalks, overnight street parking, and a decreased use of road salts.

In 2014, we will continue our work in the same direction by opening the permanent public market and launching public consultations for the Longue Rive project whose objective is to provide access to the river to all residents.

Longueuil will also pursue the restoration of roads, buildings and parks with $172 million of investments in our common infrastructures. These improvements and new facilities will also contribute to the success of the 49th Finals of the Québec Games in August 2014.

2014 will therefore be a year filled with challenges, but mainly with opportunities for our city. Together, we will go further to make Longueuil a more human, a more efficient, and always a stronger city!

 

Longueuil responsibilities

Local responsibilities:

  • issuing of permits
  • recreation and culture
  • roads, water mains and sewers
  • town planning
  • waste collection and disposal
 

Agglomeration responsibilities:

  • economic development
  • emergency preparedness
  • fire protection
  • management of municipal water courses
  • municipal assessment
  • municipal court
  • police
  • provision of drinking water
  • public transit
  • recycling and disposal of waste material
  • social housing
  • waste water treatment (with the exception of Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville)

Variable Rates

As allowed for under the Act Concerning Municipal Financing, tax bills are calculated in accordance with a system of variable tax rates set for each one of the following categories of property:

  • properties of 5 dwellings and less (residual category)
  • properties of 6 dwellings and over
  • non-residential properties (mainly commercial)
  • industrial properties
  • serviced, vacant lots
  • agricultural properties (in 2014, the tax rates is the same as that for the residual category)

 

Property taxes

Property taxes are used to finance services that are not the subject of a specific tax or tariff.

All property tax calculations are based on the value of the property (building and land), the rate is expressed in terms of each $100 worth of the value.

Infrastructure taxes

These taxes pay for:

  • road infrastructures,
  • parks and
  • municipal buildings.

Water supply rates

The following 2014 water supply rates apply to all assessment units served by the municipal water supply system, according to their respective building categories:

Building category Rate
Residual $30/pool
6 units + $30/pool
Non-residential $50/space
Industrial (less than 75% industrial use) $50/space
Industrial (75% + industrial use) $100/spacel

The swimming pool rate is a fixed annual amount. Pools installed during the year will be billed the following year. However, these fees are not refundable in cases where these pools are removed during the year.

Swimming pool rate

A $30 amount will be billed in 2014 to properties with a swimming pool.

If you wish to inform us that there is no longer a pool on the property, you must come in person to the Direction de l'évaluation, or download, fill our and return the form. If you install a pool, you must contact the Service des permis of the Direction de l’aménagement durable du territoire.

Debt tax

This tax is used to finance debt settlement whose mode of distribution is for all assessment units.

Tax to finance the quota share of the agglomeration

These taxes are used to finance services that fall under the responsibilities of the agglomeration. For more information, refer to the agglomeration responsibilities.

 

Sector Taxation

Sector taxes, or area taxes as they are sometimes referred to, are levied to reimburse loans taken out by the municipality to finance infrastructure work such as sewers, water mains, roads and street lighting. They apply to the sector where the residents benefit from these infrastructures. Such taxes vary over time according to the method used to pay off the loan. Additional information regarding sector taxes.

 

Surtax concerning agricultural land consolidation

This is a surtax concerning the consolidation of land and improvement of the agricultural zone in the Saint-Hubert sector. See Surtax concerning agricultural land consolidation for more details.

 

Payment of Tax Bills

For the year 2014:

Instalments

If the total amount of a tax bill is equal to or exceeds $300, the bill may be paid in four instalments.

These instalments must be paid no later than:

 
Tax Bill Instalments
1st  instalment
February 5, 2014
2nd  instalment
April 9, 2014
3rd  instalment
June 4, 2014
4th  instalment
August 6, 2014

Sending of the tax bill

Tax bills are sent out at the beginning of the year. Following the sale of a property, the new owner will not receive a tax bill or a statement in his or her name. The purchaser must ask the notary for a copy of the tax bills for the current year and enquire as to the state of the account at the Ville de Longueuil payment counter. You may also contact the Info-tax line at 450 463-7272. The fact that you have not received a tax bill does not relieve you from the responsibility of paying your taxes within the set time limits.

How to obtain a copy of your tax bill

To obtain a copy of your tax bill, consult the Assessment Roll - Taxation, or visit one of the services counters.

Methods of Payment

Cheques must be made out to Ville de Longueuil. You may include post-dated cheques with your first payment to cover later instalments. Each cheque will be cashed on the date indicated on the cheque. In this way, you will avoid standing in line at the payment counter or forgetting to pay later instalments. Don't forget to write the file number on each cheque (preferably on the back) and include the payment stub. Payments by cheque should be sent to the following address:

Ville de Longueuil
Taxation — Perception
P.O. Box 4000
Succursale l'Aéroport
Longueuil (Québec)   J4K 0A1

You may pay your taxes at a recognized financial institution, either at a teller's wicket or at the ATM. If you pay through your financial institution's Web site, you should choose Ville de Longueuil as the supplier and indicate the number for computerized payment that appears on each of the payment stubs. Please take care not to confuse payment of your school taxes with payment of your municipal taxes. These are two separate institutions. The number for the electronic payment varies depending on the type of bill to pay (property taxes, duties, other type of bills). We invite you to revise it with every payment. The majority of financial institutions offer Internet payment facilities. You must contact them concerning using this service.

You may also pay your taxes in person at one of the payment counters of Ville de Longueuil. Ville de Longueuil accepts payments by bank transfer, in Canadian funds only, for property owners who are resident overseas.

In many cases, it is the mortgage holder who pays the taxes. If a message appears at the bottom of your tax bill, your mortgage holder has been informed and must pay the taxes. However, if the tax bill includes arrears, it is the responsibility of the tax payer to pay the arrears and he or she must make sure that all payments are made before the due dates. If your mortgage holder's name does not appear on the tax bill, you must contact the company to make sure it will make your payment and to have your name added to the list that it sends to Ville de Longueuil for future payments. Your mortgage holder may ask you to supply a copy of your tax bill (how to obtain a copy of your tax bill). When the mortgage holder ceases to pay the taxes, the company must inform the city. Contact your mortgage holder to ensure that this notice is sent.

No receipt will be given. A copy of your bill is sufficient for your mortgage company and for your income tax requirements.

Arrears, interest rates and penalties

Interest (7%) and penalties (5%), for a combined rate of 12% are added to the unpaid balance on the due date. When a reimbursement is justified, only the interest portion is reimbursed. If you make your payments by mail, at an ATM at your financial institution, or via the Internet, please allow for necessary delays (at least two working days before the due date of the instalment).

Properties having arrears for which taxes have not been paid for the year 2012 will be sold during 2014 for non-payment of taxes. Public notices are published in the newspapers. Please contact the Info-Tax line at 450 463-7272.

Management Fees

Ville de Longueuil will bill the cost of banking services for cheques that are refused at the bank as well as for the withdrawal or deferment of post-dated cheques. These costs are $25 and $7.50 respectively.

A $25 fee will be applied when the reason for a refund is similar to another refund made for the same debtor within the past three years.

Change of Address

You may use the online change-of-address form or print one of the documents below and return them by mail or in person at a payment counter.

For any additional information, please contact the Info-Tax line at 450 463-7272.

For information concerning the property transfer tax and the suppletive tax, please consult the Property Transfer Tax section.

Links in this page:

Compte de taxes

Ville de Longueuil

Renseignements concernant le compte de taxes 2014

Vers une ville encore plus humaine, encore plus efficace et encore plus affirmée

En 2014, Longueuil se donne les moyens d'aller encore plus loin ! Elle deviendra ainsi une ville encore plus humaine, encore plus efficace et encore plus affirmée.

Le budget 2014 limite la hausse moyenne du compte de taxes à 1 %. Conjuguée à la taxe dédiée de 1 % pour redresser l'état des infrastructures, cette hausse tient compte de la capacité de payer des citoyennes et citoyens de Longueuil.

Ce budget est le fruit d'un travail entamé par la Ville en 2010 pour redresser ses finances. Il représente les efforts déployés pour limiter les dépenses et augmenter les revenus, tels que la réduction du nombre d'élus municipaux à la suite du redécoupage de la carte électorale. Il reflète aussi la volonté de la Ville d'offrir des services de proximité de qualité au moindre coût possible.

L'année 2013 fut marquée par la réalisation de plusieurs projets d'envergure à Longueuil comme le projet Accès 65+ qui offre gratuitement le transport en commun pour les usagers de 65 ans et plus, l'instauration du service 311, l'adoption du premier Plan stratégique de développement durable et, plus récemment, un nouveau plan de viabilité hivernale qui permet le déneigement de 300 kilomètres supplémentaires de trottoirs, le stationnement de nuit dans les rues et la réduction de l'usage de sel de déglaçage.

En 2014, nous poursuivons en ce sens avec l'ouverture du Marché public permanent et le début des consultations pour le projet Longue Rive, visant à redonner accès au fleuve à toute la population.

La Ville de Longueuil entend également poursuivre la réfection et le réaménagement des rues, bâtiments et parcs avec des investissements de 172 M$ dans nos infrastructures communes. Ces améliorations et nouvelles installations assureront entre autres le bon déroulement de la 49e Finale des Jeux du Québec en août 2014.

2014 sera donc une année de défis, mais surtout d'opportunités pour notre ville. Nous irons plus loin ensemble pour faire de Longueuil une ville encore plus humaine, encore plus efficace et encore plus affirmée !

 

Responsabilités de Longueuil

Compétences locales :

  • collecte et transport des matières résiduelles
  • émission des permis
  • loisir et culture
  • urbanisme
  • voirie, aqueduc et égouts
 

Compétences d'agglomération :

  • alimentation en eau
  • assainissement des eaux (à l'exception du territoire de Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville)
  • cour municipale
  • développement économique
  • élimination et valorisation des matières
    résiduelles
  • évaluation municipale
  • gestion des cours d'eau municipaux
  • logement social
  • police
  • protection contre l'incendie
  • sécurité civile
  • transport collectif

Des taux variés

Tel que le permet la Loi sur la fiscalité municipale, le compte de taxes est calculé selon un régime d'imposition à taux variés qui fixe un taux de taxation différent pour chacune des catégories d'immeubles :

  • immeubles de 5 logements et moins (catégorie résiduelle)
  • immeubles de 6 logements et plus
  • immeubles non résidentiels (principalement commerciaux)
  • immeubles industriels
  • terrains vagues desservis
  • immeubles agricoles (en 2014, le taux de taxation est le même que celui de la catégorie résiduelle)

 

Taxes foncières

Les taxes foncières servent aux financements des services qui ne font pas l'objet d'une taxation ou d'un tarif spécifique.

Toutes les taxes foncières sont calculées sur la base de la valeur de l'immeuble (bâtiment et terrain), le taux est donné pour chaque 100 $ d'évaluation.

Taxes d'infrastructures

Ces taxes servent au financement des :

  • infrastructures de rues,
  • parcs et
  • bâtiments municipaux.

Tarif pour la fourniture de l'eau

Afin de pourvoir au paiement des coûts de fourniture de l'eau, il est imposé et prélevé pour l'année 2014 sur toutes les unités d'évaluation desservies par le réseau d'aqueduc municipal, selon la catégorie d'immeubles à laquelle il appartient, les tarifs suivants :

Catégorie d'immeuble Tarif
Résiduels 30 $/piscine
6 logements ou plus 30 $/piscine
Non résidentiels 50 $/local
Industriels à moins de 75 % 50 $/local
Industriels à 75 % et plus 100 $/local

Le taux de piscine est un montant fixe et annuel. Les piscines installées en cours d'année ne seront facturées que l'année suivante. Toutefois, ces tarifs ne sont pas remboursables dans les cas où ces piscines sont retirées en cours d'année.

Tarif piscine

Un montant de 30 $ est facturé sur le compte de taxes 2014 pour les propriétés qui ont une piscine.

Si vous désirez nous informer qu'il n'y a plus de piscine sur le terrain, vous devez vous présenter à la Direction de l'évaluation ou télécharger et nous retourner le formulaire à remplir. Nous vous rappelons que dans le cas où vous ajoutez une piscine, vous devez vous adresser au Service des permis de la Direction de l'aménagement durable du territoire.

Taxe dette

Cette taxe sert au financement de règlement d'emprunt dont le mode de répartition est à l'ensemble des unités d'évaluation.

Taxe pour le financement de la quote-part de l'agglomération

Ces taxes servent au financement des services de compétences d'agglomération. Pour plus de détails, se référer aux compétences d'agglomération.

 

Taxation sectorielle

Les taxes sectorielles servent à rembourser les emprunts décrétés par la municipalité pour le financement d'infrastructures telles que les égouts, les aqueducs, le pavage et l'éclairage des rues. Elles s'appliquent dans le secteur où les contribuables bénéficient de ces infrastructures. Ces taxes varient dans le temps en fonction des modalités de remboursement de ces emprunts. Renseignements complémentaires sur la taxation sectorielle.

 

Surtaxe relative au remembrement agricole

Il s'agit d'une surtaxe sur le remembrement des terres pour la mise en valeur de la zone agricole du secteur de Saint-Hubert. Voir Surtaxe relative au remembrement agricole pour plus de détails.

 

Paiement du compte de taxes

Pour l'année 2014:

Versements

Si le total d'un compte de taxes égale ou excède 300 $, il est possible d'acquitter le montant en quatre versements.

Les versements doivent être effectués au plus tard :

 
Versements compte de taxes
1er  versement 5 février 2014
2e  versement 9 avril 2014
3e  versement 4 juin 2014
4e  versement 6 août 2014

Envoi du compte de taxes

Un compte de taxes est envoyé en début d'année. À la suite d'une transaction immobilière, le nouveau propriétaire ne recevra pas de copie du compte de taxes ni d'état de compte à son nom. L'acquéreur devrait demander au notaire une copie du compte de taxes pour l'année en cours ou s'enquérir de l'état de compte aux comptoirs de perception de la Ville de Longueuil ou consulter le rôle foncier de taxation. Vous pouvez aussi vous adresser à Info-taxes, au 450 463-7272. Le fait de ne pas avoir reçu de compte de taxes ne vous soustrait pas de l'obligation de payer vos taxes selon les échéances prévues.

Comment obtenir une copie d'un compte de taxes ?

Pour obtenir une copie d'un compte de taxes, consultez le rôle foncier de taxation ou vous pouvez vous présenter en personne à l'un des comptoirs de perception.

Modes de paiement

Les paiements par chèques doivent être faits à l'ordre de la Ville de Longueuil. Vous pouvez inclure avec votre premier paiement des chèques postdatés pour vos paiements subséquents. Les chèques seront encaissés à la date indiquée sur chacun d'eux. Vous éviterez ainsi les attentes au comptoir de perception et les oublis fâcheux. Ne pas oublier d'inscrire votre numéro de dossier sur tous les chèques (de préférence à l'endos) et de joindre les talons de remise. Les paiements par chèques doivent être envoyés à l'adresse suivante :

Ville de Longueuil
Taxation — Perception
C.P. 4000
Succursale l'Aéroport
Longueuil (Québec)   J4K 0A1

Le compte de taxes peut être acquitté auprès d'une institution financière, au comptoir ou au guichet électronique. Si vous utilisez le paiement électronique du site Internet de votre institution financière, vous devez choisir le fournisseur Ville de Longueuil et indiquer le numéro pour paiement électronique inscrit sur chaque talon de remise. Prenez garde de ne pas confondre votre paiement de taxes scolaires avec celui des taxes municipales. Il s'agit de deux institutions distinctes. Le numéro pour le paiement électronique est variable selon le type de factures à payer (taxe foncière, mutation, autre type de facture). Nous vous invitons à le réviser lors de chaque paiement. La plupart des institutions financières offrent le service de paiement par Internet. Vous devez vous informer auprès de celles-ci pour adhérer à ce service.

Vous pouvez aussi payer votre compte de taxes en personne à l'un des comptoirs de perception de la Ville de Longueuil. La Ville de Longueuil accepte les paiements par transfert bancaire, en argent canadien seulement, pour les propriétaires résidant à l'étranger.

Dans plusieurs cas, c'est le créancier hypothécaire qui acquitte le montant des taxes. Si un message apparaît au bas de votre compte de taxes, votre créancier a été avisé et il doit effectuer le paiement des taxes. Cependant, si le compte inclut des arrérages, c'est la responsabilité du contribuable de régler les arrérages et s'assurer en tout temps que tous les paiements sont effectués avant les échéances. Si le nom de votre créancier n'apparaît pas sur le compte, vous devez communiquer avec lui pour vous assurer qu'il effectuera votre paiement et qu'à l'avenir l'information soit inscrite à votre dossier. Il est possible que le créancier vous demande de lui fournir une copie de votre compte de taxes (comment obtenir une copie du compte de taxes ?). Lorsque le créancier cesse d'acquitter les taxes, il doit en aviser la Ville. Pour vous en assurer, communiquez avec votre créancier hypothécaire afin qu'il expédie cet avis.

Aucun reçu ne sera remis. Pour votre créancier hypothécaire ou pour vos impôts, une copie du compte est suffisante.

Arrérages, taux d'intérêts et pénalités

Des intérêts (7 %) et des pénalités (5 %) soit un taux combiné de 12 % sont ajoutés à tout montant demeuré impayé à sa date d'échéance. Lors d'un remboursement, seul le taux d'intérêt est remboursable. Si vous faites votre paiement par la poste, au guichet automatique de votre institution financière ou par transaction électronique par Internet, prévoyez les délais nécessaires (au moins deux jours ouvrables avant la date d'échéance du versement).

Les immeubles ayant un arrérage et sur lesquels les taxes sont non payées pour l'année 2012 feront l'objet d'une vente pour non-paiement de taxes au cours de 2014. Des avis publics seront publiés dans les journaux. Veuillez communiquer avec Info-taxes au 450 463-7272.

Frais de gestion

La Ville de Longueuil facturera le coût des services bancaires pour les chèques non honorés ainsi que pour le retrait ou le report de chèques postdatés. Ces frais sont respectivement de 25 $ et 7,50 $.

Des frais de 25 $ seront appliqués lorsque le motif d'un remboursement est similaire à un autre remboursement effectué pour un même débiteur au cours des trois dernières années.

Changement d'adresse

Vous pouvez utiliser le formulaire de changement d'adresse en ligne ou imprimer un des documents ci-dessous et le retourner par la poste ou en main propre à l'un des comptoirs de perception.

Pour tous renseignements complémentaires, communiquer avec Info-Taxes au 450 463-7272.

Pour des renseignements sur les droits de mutation et les droits supplétifs, consultez la section Droit de mutation.

Liens contenus dans cette page :